Tags

, , , , , ,

Looking back on the last 31 days brings a few things of note to my attention. From posting daily to posting topics that mean the most to me, I’ve discovered that daily posts do boost views slightly, but I find it hard to motivate myself to have a post every single day. What works the best is to give myself 5 – 7 topics I want to write about each week, write them in advance and schedule them. So, while I dislike giving myself a schedule, I will look into revisiting this idea in the coming month of February.

It’s hard to believe that January is already behind me. This last month I have seen the coldest winter days I’ve seen in quite some time. With three and a half snow days under my belt from work and a brand new house, I’ve come to appreciate the simple things: sitting on my couch in my PJs spending time with my husband and our two cats, Rufus and Ezio.

I’ve also discovered that many of my posts center around living a fuller life, or understanding others in grief. This change in my blog is largely due to the amount of death surrounding me recently. I’m already mentally planning a new memorial I hope to publish next month.

And far and away, the most popular post this month has been Olivia and Owen. These two little ones blew up Brautigan’s Girl for three solid days, bringing in the most views of all time. I’m still reeling from the passing of Olivia, and unfortunately I never met little Owen when he was alive, but these two little ones have taught me an incredible lesson of life and love and brought two incredibly beautiful women into my life. And while I don’t speak with K.S. nearly as much as I do J.G. I do get a chance to touch base with her from time to time.

But because of this change in tempo on Brautigan’s Girl, I’ve learned that my most popular topics are about those we have lost and how we, as people, grow and heal. Or how we can help those around us heal. Or how we can live our lives more happily. There are two things that are inevitable in life: Death and Taxes. Taxes are right around the corner, and Death is always coming for you.

I started off January posting about different aspects of Pressure as a part of NaBloPoMo. I do like the NaBloPoMo themes and will keep that up through February. Where a daily schedule fails, perhaps a writing prompt will succeed.

Only time will tell, and only you, Gentle Reader will inform me of the best posts of next month. I hope you have learned something during this month of Pressure, Loss, and Grief.

This post has been submitted to January 2014 NaBloPoMo. NaBloPoMo is a month-long challenge to post once a day on your blog, hosted by Blogher. Each month has its own theme. January’s theme is “pressure.”

