Tags

, ,

So, this is the post I meant to write yesterday.

The thing is, I kinda lied. I didn’t run out of time. I had plenty of time. I just couldn’t out word together, so instead I got the Downloadable Content for Assassins Creed 4 and spent my time not writing but cursing. Because that’s what you do. Honestly, I’ve never seen a more infuriating form of entertainment. I both love video games and hate them at the same time. It’s crazy.

And much like video games, I both love and hate time. Time just keeps on ticking by. It’s the one thing we can’t stop and have no control over whatsoever. And there’s pressure to use your time effectively. Because you never know how much time you have left.

We saw with Olivia, she was only given 6 months of time. While the rest of us, whirling still with her loss have been given so many more months of time. And still we don’t know when our time will be up.

And even though we may run out of time, time still doesn’t stop. It just keeps on going. How much time do you have before you are forgotten about? How much time passes before people stop remembering you?

How far can you, Gentle Reader, look back into your genealogy? Without the use of the internet, how far back can you go in your memory right now? You probably remember your grandparents, and maybe you know the names of your great-grandparents, but do you know what they did for a living? Do you know where you come from?

Through DNA we can look back into our history as coming from one single woman. Our DNA points to Eve. Whatever your beliefs are about Creation Vs. Evolution is irrelevant. Both Religion and Science both admit we can from one woman.

But that’s not really what I’m talking about here. I know my Grandmother’s Maiden name was Urban. I don’t know my great-grandparents names. I can look back to my grandparents and know just them. I can look back in my family history to World War 2. Then nothing.

The engagement ring I was given was my husbands grandmother’s ring. As far as I know the diamond itself was passed down through the family. I’m not sure how long it’s been in the family.

Time is its own kind of pressure. It just keeps going even when you so desperately need it to stop. So, how do you deal with the pressure of time?

This post has been submitted to January 2014 NaBloPoMo. NaBloPoMo is a month-long challenge to post once a day on your blog, hosted by Blogher. Each month has its own theme. January’s theme is “pressure.”

