Tags

, , ,

The Fractal is possibly the closest thing, in my mind anyway, to mathematical perfection. The repeating images are just as natural as leafs on trees and lightning. No, really! Fractals are IN leaves and lightning. If you don’t believe me, go here!

But, unlike fractals, humans are anything but perfect. There seems to be a lot of pressure to be perfect.

Perfect hair, perfect make-up, perfect clothes, perfect size, perfect job, life, house, car, etc, etc, etc….

It’s weird, the kind of pressure we put on others and on ourselves to be perfect. I do it to myself. I look at my stomach and I remember a time when it used to be much smaller and flatter than it is now. I went up a size or two since I got married. I know I’m not tall enough, or trim enough to be a super model. But I never have been.

The problem is bring brought more and more to the forefront of our attention. There are dozens of videos out there showing the Photoshop process to make a normal woman into a bombshell. Here’s a few excellent examples:

So, is this what’s causing pressure on women like me to be thinner, taller, longer hair? Yea. Probably. Because we don’t see women like me being leading ladies or super models.

Let’s break the cycle, shall we?

This post has been submitted to January 2014 NaBloPoMo. NaBloPoMo is a month-long challenge to post once a day on your blog, hosted by Blogher. Each month has its own theme. January’s theme is “pressure.”

