Last Friday, September 13, I turned 29. Before you roll your eyes at me and think, “Oh, to be 29 and young again!” try to remember back to that last year of your 20s and how it felt to be so close to 30. It’s a little crazy, actually.

All of my life I have considered 30 to be mature, grown up, adult. And here I am so close to this time. It feels surreal. I don’t feel like I’m 29. I still laugh at fart jokes, for crying out loud!

I told my husband that I had a few things I wanted to achieve before turning 30 and I would work on that list. I would like to share that list with you at this time. The Top Five Things I Want to do Before Turning 30.

1. Go Skydiving

My husband went for his bachelor party. I helped the Best Man find contact information for a nice group and then sat jealously at home knowing that they were jumping out of an airplane without me.

We talked about going this last summer, but with autumn fast approaching we are running out of time. So we will put it off until next spring.

2. Stand Atop the Willis Tower

A few months ago, I went to Chicago for a conference and I wanted to stop at the Willis Tower (formerly the Sears Tower) on our way home.

Unfortunately, the sky was very overcast on the day we left, so it was agreed that we would not spend money to go look at the inside of a cloud.

We will probably return this coming year for the 2014 conference in Chicago, and I hope for better weather. I think part of this is rooted in my love for Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

3. Return to Washington DC

My husband and I went to DC once before we were married. The circumstances of that trip are rather complicated and I feel like we did not get to really see the city to its fullest.

We were able to see several places, The Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Monument, the National Mall, and Arlington Cemetery where I watched the changing of the guards. But There’s plenty more to see and do. Those few stops were in one afternoon. I’d love to go back and see more.

4. Join a Roller Coaster Enthusiast Group

During one of our trips to Cedar Point this year they were hosting a special day for a particular Coaster Enthusiast Group. After chatting with one of them, I learned the name of the group.

I love Cedar Point and I love Roller Coasters! I’m hoping that one of the perks of joining this club will help with discounted tickets to Cedar Point and hopefully Kings Island. It’s been too long since I made the trek South to Kings Island. That’s on my to do list this year.

5. Go to a Star Trek Convention

As with many of my plans from this last summer, the idea of going to a Star Trek Convention fell through.

I’ve always wanted to go to one. Just to be in a room full of a bunch of crazy other people just like me that love Star Trek! The idea is tantalizing!

Of course, I can’t drag my husband to one of these events. He likes Star Trek and he is very supportive of me, but a convention is just too much. I am hoping to go with a friend or group of friends. Maybe not as far as Las Vegas (though that would be SWEET!) but possibly a Chicago event or somewhere closer to home.

