You will excuse me if I do not write a post about my dog Ami this week. In many ways, I’ve had a very difficult week, mostly weekend, and with some bad news to start off my morning I feel too emotionally drained to write about her today.

There’s little new in the lives of Rufus and Ezio. Ezio turned one not too long ago and is currently looking out the front window at the rainy Cleveland morning, while Rufus naps on his brown chair. For his birthday, Ezio got a new toy. It’s a ball with a mouse in side it. He was very excited. Two of his favorite things all in one place.

Ezio greeted my husband and I at the door after our morning appointment. It was a welcome sight. 

I have begun my latest theatrical project: Godspell. Again, I will be the Stage Manager, meaning all communication flows through me. But my job does not end there. I am responsible for knowing all blocking, staging, choreography, scenic elements (and when the move), properties, lighting moments, sound moments, costume moments, and the list goes on and on. It’s a big job, and sometimes the most thankless and difficult for them all in my line of work. But I’d be hard pressed to find a better group of people to do it with. I am surrounded by support and love on all sides.

I try to fixate on that fact on rainy days like this. It’s always a tough day when bad news comes with rain. They gray dreary day just can’t lighten your spirits. So I try to focus on all the people in my life that are good.

Unfortunately, the rain will also mean that I won’t be able to get a look at comet PANSTARRS. I’ve been trying to locate it for the past few days at sunset when it just peeks up over the horizon. But as is usually the case in Cleveland, there are too many low hanging clouds or tall trees in the way.

Do you, Gentle Reader, ever wish you could just get up and run away? It’s a day like that for me. Just wishing that I could get in the car and drive off into the sunset far away from all the things that are obstacles in my life. But running from these things does not make them go away.

As my grandfather would say, “Wherever you go, there you are.”

Today will be a lesson in letting go, lifting my problems up and hoping that when I fall that the ground won’t fall out from under me. I’ll be thinking on that today.

