Tags

, , ,

5. Morgan Freeman

Nelson Mandela, President of the United States, Red, God (twice), and Malcom X (TV), Morgan Freeman kicks us off today with my top five. Not only is his voice smooth like butter, but his face is kind and wise. You just can’t help loving him.

My favorite character is Ellis Boyd “Red” Redding from Shawshank Redemption.

I actually had a chance to visit the prison that Shawshank was filmed in. It is the Mansfield Reformatory, about an hour South from where I live. The old building is no longer a functioning prison, but it is open for tours. If you ever get a chance, I highly recommend the trip.

4. Harrison Ford

Let’s take a moment and forget about that the fourth Indiana Jones movie exists, shall we?

Han Solo, Indiana Jones, The Fugitive, and coming soon Graff in Enders Game! THAT’S RIGHT PEOPLE!!! ENDER’S FREAKING GAME!!!! It’s gonna be a movie. I can’t find anything offical about it, not a trailer or a release date, but it must be coming soon. If you know anything, anything at all leave me a comment.

My favorite character is easy! Han Solo.

3. Sir Patrick Stewart

The Captain of the Starship Enterprise Jean-Luc Picard, Professor Charles Xavier, Oedipus, Claudius, King Richard, and Ebeneezer Scrooge, in addition to being a highly trained Shakespearian actor on the stage, Sir Patrick Stewart comes in at number three.

My favorite role should be pretty obvious from My Fantasy Circle of Five post, but in case you missed it: Captain Jean-Luc Picard!

2. Sir Ian McKellen

There is no denying Sir Ian McKellen’s power in acting. He was Galdalf and Magneto, King Lear and Richard III, Adolph Hitler AND Macbeth and Hamlet!

My favorite character by Sir Ian is Gandalf. Who can resist the kindly old wizard who can bellow, “You shall not PASS!”

1. Johnny Depp

Do I really have to explain this one? I mean….LOOK AT HIM!!! He has such a fantastic range, no two characters are quite the same.

My favorite character is a toss up between Jack Sparrow (Pirates of a Caribbean) and Duke (Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.)

Since I can’t choose, I’ll let you, Gentle Reader. But since I do appreciate keeping my posts mildly clean, I’ll let you find clips from Fear and Loathing on youtube yourself. Happy searching.

