Tags

, , , ,

My top five favorite novels are here!

5. Ender’s Game

It was quite some time ago that I set out to read the top 100 greatest Sci-Fi novels of all time. I decided to start at 100 and work my way up to the top, but after awhile I grew tired of having to track down some of the titles and decided to start at the beginning.

That was when Ender’s Game came into my life. The list I was using had this at the number one slot with Dune at a close second. I’m a huge fan of Dune, so I admit coming to Ender’s Game with chip on my shoulder wondering how this book could possibly be better than Dune. And while I’m a firm believer that Dune is better due to its complexity, Ender’s Game is fantastic! I was sucked in within the first chapter. I found the book difficult to out down. And coming sometime this year it will be released as a full length feature film. I can’t wait!

Opening Line: I’ve watched through his eyes, I’ve listened through his ears, and I tell you he’s the one.

Favorite Line: In the moment when I truly understand my enemy, understand him well enough to defeat him, then in that very moment I also love him. I think it’s impossible to really understand somebody, what they want, what they believe, and not love them the way they love themselves. And then, in that very moment when I love them…. I destroy them.

4. The Cat Inside by William S. Burroughs

It has been a long time since I read this book, but when I did so I found it very difficult to keep myself from crying. I love my cats, and this is a lovely story of an old man who loves his cats so much he can’t help himself from caring for any cat that comes by.

Opening Line: May 4, 1985. I am packing for a short trip to New York to discuss the cat book with Brion. In the front room where the kittens are kept, Calico Jane is nursing one black kitten. I pick up my Tourister. It seems heavy. I look inside and there are her other four kittens. “Take care of my babies. Take them with you wherever you go.”

Favorite Line: The cat does not offer services. The cat offers itself.

3. The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolken

This is a difficult book to read if you like action. I remember reading The Hobbit as a young adult and loving it, but when I sat down to read The Fellowship I found I couldn’t keep myself interested. I finally got around to giving it a second chance after college and found that all I needed was a bit more maturity in my life. This is a slow read, as Tolkien is long winded, but it is hard to put it down once you get sucked in.

Opening Line: This book is largely concerned with Hobbits, and from its pages a reader may discover much of their character and a little of their history.

Favorite Line: I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.

2. Dune by Frank Herbert

Dune is my favorite Science-Fiction Novel. I have read it several dozen times and have many quotes memorized. The story is so vast, so intertwined and the characters so real!

A local resturant has a house brew of coffee that is the closet thing I can imagine Spiced Coffee would taste like. I usually have a pound of their coffee on hand for when the mood takes me.

Opening Line: “A beginning is the time for taking the most delicate care that the balances are correct.”

Favorite Line: Try looking into that place where you dare not look! You’ll find me there, staring out at you!

1. In Watermelon Sugar by Richard Brautigan

Richard Brautigan is obviously my favorite author. His writing is so simple, so short, and yet says so much. This book was not the first book of his that I read, but it was the one that moved me the most.

Opening Line: In Watermelon Sugar the deeds were done and done again as my life is done in watermelon sugar. I’ll tell you about it because I am here and you are distant.

Favorite Quote: We call everything a river here. We’re that kind of people.

