Tags

, ,

DSCN8693

Ezio spends most of the day sleeping in the sink. He happily greets us with a friendly “mew” when we come in to do our business. My husband and I often joke that if we were meaner people we would turn the faucet on and teach our furry friend a lesson, but we’re too soft. He loves his sink, it fits him perfectly. Of course, Ezio is a long haired and rather fluffy kitten, so his choice of afternoon nap time leaves our sink clogged with fur and often dirty. But, really, how could you refuse something so stinking cute?

DSCN8145In addition to the sink, he also loves to nap on the back of the toilet. Gives a new definition to the word “throne.” Here in this picture he was much smaller, and since he’s grown he doesn’t nap there anymore.

But Ezio’s fun and fascination with the bathroom doesn’t end there. Indeed, this little one is kind of a creeper. It the door is closed, he must open it and see what you are doing while you are in there. If you are taking a shower, he must watch you, totally fasinated by the falling water, the suds, the idea that you are in there and he is not. While he hasn’t climbed in with us, we can often hear him playing in the tub on a daily business. Light thumps and a curious mew will come out of the bathroom. On a given day there can be anywhere between four to six mice toys in the tub.

DSCN8269He also loves the toilet paper dispenser. here you can see a much smaller, younger Ezio caught in the act of total destruction.

Most people would tell you the best way to discipline a cat would be to spray them with water, but not our furry baby. Ezio was born to a long-time friend of mine who worked very hard on socialization with him and his brothers and sisters. I wanted to take Ezio in at eight weeks because I desperately wanted a little fluff ball, but he was born and the exact wrong time. I was gearing up for my wedding and then I would be gone on my honeymoon for two weeks. It was not the right time to introduce a new baby into a home with a very independent cat. So Ezio lived with my friend until he was six months old. During that time she had given him several baths and I think totally ruined the idea of water being a bad thing. I realized this quickly when I sprayed Ezio with water while he attempted to climb my curtains. He thought it was a game and not discipline. We were at an impasse.

Until one day at a White Elephan Christmas Party we managed to get a nurf gun. It only took one shot in Ezio’s general direction for him to learn that he was being bad. Now, all we have to do is cock the plastic toy and watch him scatter. Now some of you might be upset that we’re shooting our cats with nurf guns, but I would like to point out that we would never actually hit them with the nurf gun, we only shoot in their general direction, and both Ezio and Rufus already know the sound of the nurf gun means they are being bad, so there’s no need to get all mad about it. Sometimes all they need is to see us reach for it.

Of course, I let them smell it. After the first shot they hid for about ten minutes and I got them out with the promising sound of shaking the kitty treats. After making nice I left the nurf gun on the floor in the middle of the room and let them check it out. They sniffed it and then moved on.

We would never hurt our babies. They are the closest thing to children that we have. Obviously they are very important to me because they have their own blog spot here every Monday.

Rufus does not play in the bathroom. He is much older than Ezio at six-years-old and spends most of his days sleeping on his favorite chair. It’s an old brown chair that has been a part of my life since I can remember. It has seen two cats before Rufus, our old cats Sam and Shadow. Those old boys are stories all on their own and worthy of their own Monday spots, so stay tuned for the life and times of Sam and Shadow: my life in cats next week!

