hs-2011-11-a-web_print

To begin my weekly update on the progress of Kodiak Rising, I would like to thank DJ from The Written Word and Legends Undying for agreeing to be a beta reader on this project. His insight has been valuable to the process and has pointed out some things that need considering.

That being said, not a lot has happened this week in the ways of editing or finishing. I am still coming to grips with the idea of actually having to do something instead of eating Doritos and playing video games or watching The West Wing.

On a side note: I’ve just gotten into West Wing and I am hooked. It is proving to be very difficult to concentrate on writing.

When it comes to editing, Part Two is in desperate need of attention. I did cut one scene from the very beginning because I never liked it. I thought it was just silly. Indeed, I think most of the beginning is silly. Mostly because I didn’t know where I was going so I was just writing to get my word count up.

I think step one is just sitting down and thinking about Part Two. I learned a great deal during writing and discovered where I should be going from the beginning, but it was only about half way through the draft process when I discovered it.

Have you ever had that moment when it all becomes clear and you wonder why you never thought about that before? Yea, that happened. So, with that in mind, I want to return to the beginning of Part Two with a fresh perspective of the end game.

So, I’m thinking that Saturday will be a big push to look at it again with fresh eyes. I am setting that deadline, right now, in public.

I also am in the market for a decent picture from the Hubble Space Telescope to be the cover of the book. The image at the top of the post is the current heavy weight contender, but there are hundreds of thousands of images to search through that I have yet to look at.

At this time that is all for the updates. You, Gentle Reader, must hold me accountable to my promise of editing on Saturday. It is of the utmost importance if I ever want to see this in print. Wish me luck.

