Tags

,

DSCN8734

For three weeks, our little one had two different problems with his eyes. Just one day after finishing the eye drops from the first infection in his left eye, I awoke to a cloudy right eye.

Like worried parents we rushed him back to the vet where we discovered that our older cat, Rufus, had smacked Ezio pretty hard in his eye, causing a small abrasion on the cornea. We were sent home with yet another type of eye drop and told to continue the new drops for another seven days.

By that time we had all grown accustom to our new routine. Three eye drops a day. Taking the little guy into the bathroom, we laid him on his side over our laps and applied the drops. As is always the case, more of the drops landed in his fur than in his eye, but if we were patient we would normally get it done.

He would always receive a small handful of treats when it was over and now I find that we are dangerously low on kitty treats. But I also learned that the kitty treats help with the hairballs and upset tummies.

We have finished both eye treatments now, and our life has returned to normal. It’s no wonder that our fuzzy little man was so tired he fell asleep in his water dish (see above.)

During this time, Ezio began to refuse to eat his kitten chow. The vet had told us we should continue to feed him kitten chow until his first birthday because he was still growing. In an attempt to trick him, I started mixing his kitten chow with his big brothers adult food. In time we noticed a pattern. Ezio has a terrible habit of tossing his food out of his dish and onto the floor. He had been picking out the kitten food and eating the adult food. We decided to graduate him full-time to adult food. There wasn’t much kitten chow left anyway. I’ll be passing the kitten chow onto a friend of mine who will be picking up two babies of her own soon.

There is such a difference in owning a kitten from early life and picking up a Tom Cat off the street. Our Rufus was about two years old when he adopted me and was living outside.  While loving and sweet, he has always been independent. He spends more time sleeping in his chair than he does sitting with me on the couch. Even when he does sit with me, he usually only lays next to me. It only makes it more special when we decides to sit on my lap. He likes to stretch out on my chest and look at me while I scratch his chin. He purrs, but only loud enough for me to hear him and after about five minutes he moves on to sleep next to me. He rarely sleeps in bed with my husband and I. When it was just Rufus and I in our first apartment he would spend all night on the other side of the bed, but now with a second person in bed he spends his night on the couch. When my husband and I first moved in together, Rufus tried to come up in bed with us, but that ended when there wasn’t enough room for him to stretch out.

Ezio, however, will find room for himself. He likes to sleep either over my head on the pillow, or down near my feet on the big body pillow that I snuggle with. He also purrs much louder than Rufus. He’s more social, he likes everyone and will let anyone pick him up. We can play with his feet, we can rub his belly, we can even roll him around on the floor. He doesn’t really seem to care. Rufus won’t let us get anywhere near his feet or his belly. Rufus never really liked that.

As a point of comparison, a kitten that you can socialize from a young age is more a companion than a reformed Tom Cat. However, I wouldn’t trade my Rufus for anything. He chose me to take care of him above anyone else in our apartment complex. He has been my companion for four years and I love him dearly. Adding Ezio to our home has given Rufus a play mate. While he pretends not to love the fuzzy little guy, I can tell that Rufus enjoys chasing him around our small duplex. They leap over one another, chase each other from room to room and will at times will wrestle. When they wrestle it is almost impossible to tell one cat from another. There will come a day when they snuggle together and nap and when that day comes I will be a successful cat-mom.

