Before we begin I’d like to point out that in no way was I paid to write this review. James approached me and asked me if I would take the time to read his latest work and review it. I was honored and pleased to oblige.

James Mahoney has written a lovely and introspective look into the life of a seemingly lost young woman. Mady, merely fifteen years old, witnesses the murder of her mother which begins a series of events that leads her into the arms of her father. A most unexpected change occurs within her heart as she accepts her new life, while tormented by nightmares of an abusive step-father.

In true Novella form, James manages to sum up a story that could easily be expanded into a full blown 75,000 word novel. (What a read that would be!) As it is, he is to the point, giving the reader exactly what they need to know. There are opportunities for expanded dialogue, greater character arches and brilliant prose about the African landscape. Even so, the short and sweet look into Mady’s life leads the reader through mystery, intrigue, and wonder to full on redemption by the final chapter.

I found myself almost disgusted at Mady’s initial attitude, but my heart melted for her by the end of the first chapter. She is presented as hardened and dark from the very get, but her soft heart for a poor child breaks that darkness before it encompasses her. The action begins immediately and she is swept up in a frenzy of events that eventually lead her to explore a whole new world through new eyes. As her eyes open, the darkness recedes and a beautiful young woman is revealed.

The book is so quick that it could be read over a lunch break or for a night cap. One cup of coffee (or tea if that’s your thing) is all that’s needed for this fantastic story. For only six dollars you can own this beautiful tale in print. If e-books are what tickle your fancy you can find it for only three dollars for your kindle device. You simply must pick up this little treasure. The cover alone makes it stand out in brilliant color and its thin spine will fit perfectly on that annoying empty sliver on your bookshelf. (You know that one I’m talking about right? That little spot between Dune and Enders Game where no book could possibly fit? I hate that spot.)

You can find it on Amazon.com or on CreateSpace.com. You know, if you buy it from CreateSpace a tiny bit more of your money will line the pockets of this brilliant author at no extra expense to you. And who doesn’t want to support a brilliant author, right? I know I do. I’ll be ordering a hard bound copy for myself to fill that annoying little spot on my shelf. Then it will be perfect.

For more information about James and his work, check out his blog The Written Word

