Our little one went to the vet today to get himself fixed.

As I wait for him to return I find myself mystified by the layman’s term: “Fixed”

The definition of fix is as follows according to Google:

Verb: Fasten (something) securely in a particular place or position.

Noun: A difficult or awkward situation from which it is hard to extricate oneself; a predicament.

On dictionary.com as a verb when used with an object it means one or more of the following: 1. to repair, mend; 2. to put in order or in good condition, adjust or arrange; 3. to make fast or firm; 4. to place definitely and more or less permanently; 5.  to settle definitely; determine.

In this particular instance, the term “fixed” in reference to my cats testicular region means that they will be placed in a position of uselessness for the rest of his life. Being that the word can also mean to repair, it implies that I am repairing him from a particular habit or habits that he may develop with age.

An unneutered cat or Tom Cat will mark his territory by spraying. I had an unnueutered cat in my first apartment for about forty-five minutes when I was interviewing cats for pet status. When he sprayed in the bedroom that ended our indoor relationship. I still left him and his brothers and sisters food, but I was not interested in a cat that claimed my bedroom as their before even getting to know me.

All of these things I am sure you know, gentle reader. I do not wish to put you off by pointing out the obvious. Clearly if you have come to my blog you are literate, and the nature of the definition of “fixed” is in your vocabulary. If you are a cat person, you know the difference between a tom cat and a house cat. If you are not a cat person, I am sorry to hear that.

I merely wish to demonstrate a point: that I am having my cat “fixed.” As though there was something wrong with him. In reality, there is nothing wrong with him. We, as humans, wish our pets to be pets. So we give them silly names like “Muffy” or “Scuffles” and, if they’re lucky, we love them unconditionally.

We brought our little guy home not too long ago and he is resting on the couch between us while I write these words. I am relieved to have this behind me.

