Well, I am at 14,885 words right now on Day 6, which is way ahead of the NaNo Curve. However, in the draft of Part Two, I’m figuring only about 5,000 words will make the cut. However, I think that is exactly the point. NaNoWriMo gets your writing going and it really doesn’t matter if it’s any good or not. It’s a personal challenge to yourself. Something that, perhaps, you would never do otherwise.

I never invisioned that I would write 59,000 words once, let alone make a second go of it. I never thought my writing was really any good! But NaNoWriMo challenged me to get back to something I loved to do when I was younger. It brought me back to my roots and I could never repay the people who helped make that possible.

I leave you, gentle reader, with an excerpt for Kodiak Rising Part Two. Something I think will be left on the cutting room floor.

Kodiak Rising: Part Two Deleted Scene

When Jake finally pulled himself from the wreckage upon waking, he was able to see the full scope of his surroundings. A densely gray planet, the cloud cover alone reminded him of winter days from his childhood. The bitter cold was almost assaulting. He could not survive here for long, if his team was unable to find him after a day, he would need to move South before he froze.

With trees and brush near-by he built a massive signal flame. Before lighting the signal he opened his com line.

“Morris to Bradley: Come in, Matt.”

Nothing. With the ship out of range, the computer was unable to send or receive messages. His distress beacons were only for calling home when the mission was complete.

He lit the flame and ate his rations and waited.

Almost four kilometers away Alia Henson stepped out of the shelter to a plume of Jake’s signal. Matt nodded at it as he stuck the shelter and packed it away. They set off in the direction up the mountain. It would be a hard climb upward over a harsh terrain, but it was clear that their captain was there. There was no further need for dialogue. Alia was well aware of Matt’s feelings toward her, and the feeling was mutual.

She viewed him as a slob of a man who gave up far too easily when the chips were down. She was certain that the Old Man had simply felt sorry for this poor sap when he was reenlisted after being dishonorably discharged. Jake had something to do with it, and for the life of her she couldn’t see why Matt was needed. There were other more qualified to run tactical than this Samoan.

“It feels like home,” Alia said half to herself, half to gauge her companion’s mood.

“Mm-hmm,” Matt nodded without looking.

“What do you suppose we will do when we meet up with Jake?”

“I suppose that our Captain will have a plan,” he said annoyed.

“Why do you do that?” she asked. “Put all the emphasis on the word ‘captain’, I’ve heard you refer to him as Jake before, to his face!”

“I think it best to save your energy,” Matt answered simply.

“No,” she stopped walking. “Look, Matt…”

“Bradley,” he corrected her glaring.

“Whatever,” she answered snidely. “I know you don’t care for me, the feeling is mutual, but right now it’s you and me and we have to deal with it. I do not intend to spend my time pussy-footing around your emotions. You answer me.”

“Informalities aside, Chief,” he said. “We are on a mission. Now, I intend to get to Captain Morris before night fall and device a plan to find this girl and bring all of us safely back to The Kodiak so that we may return home. If you wish to stand in the snow, you may do so – alone.”

Matt continued uphill and Alia followed silently behind him.

